dahlgren web header

JLUS Committees

Two committees, comprised of county, city, military, and other stakeholders will guide the development of the NSF Dahlgren JLUS. These committees are as follows.

Policy Committee (PC). The PC consists of city and county elected officials, and leadership from NSF Dahlgren. This committee is responsible for leading the direction of the JLUS and monitoring the implementation and adoption of policies and strategies. Throughout the JLUS process, the PC will work with the appointed JLUS staff members representing the multiple local organizations and other interested parties. The members of the PC are (in alphabetic order):

Mark Belton
Charles County, MD
Ruby Brabo
Board of Supervisors Member
King George County, VA
Bob Fink
Director of Planning & Community Development Westmoreland County, VA
Ken Robinson
Charles County, MD
Mike Ham
Town Council
Colonial Beach, VA
Todd Morgan
St. Mary’s County, MD
Captain Peter R. Nette
Commanding Officer
Naval Support Activity South Potomac
Tony Scaramozzi
Planning Commission, Chair
King George County, VA
Dale W. Sisson
Board of Supervisors Member
King George County, VA

Technical Advisory Group (TAG): The TAG membership is based on recommendations from the PC and individuals with technical expertise or area experience necessary to the development of the JLUS. The TAG is made up of representatives from local, regional, and state and federal agencies, agricultural experts and environmental interests. The TAG identifies and addresses technical issues, provides feedback on report development, and assists in the development and evaluation of implementation strategies and tools. These stakeholders will also be engaged with the PC, in an advisory role, and may attend PC meetings. The members of the TAG are (in alphabetic order):

James K. Beazley
Government Affairs Representative
Dominion Power
Amy Blessinger
Planner III, Department of Planning & Growth Management
Charles County, MD
Commander Jeffrey Brancheau
U.S. Navy Public Works Officer
Naval Support Activity South Potomac, Dahlgren Site
Mike Coleman
Military Relations Liaison, Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security
State of Virginia
Stephen Eckel
Chief Infrastructure Engineer
Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division
Mike Finchum
Director of Planning and Community Development
Caroline County, VA
Val Foulds
Town Manager
Colonial Beach, VA
Jack Green
Director, Department of Community Development
King George County, VA
Lieutenant Marjorie Gruber
U.S. Navy Assistant Public Works Officer
Naval Support Activity South Potomac, Dahlgren Site
Vaughn Mahaffey
Chair, Military Affairs Council
Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce
Mike Paone
Maryland Planning Department
State of Maryland
William Rau
Assistant Public Works Officer
Naval Support Activity South Potomac, Dahlgren Site
Phil Shire
Director, Land Use & Management
St. Mary's County, MD
Chris Thomas
General Manager, King George County Service Authority
King George County, VA
Mr. Jeron Hayes
Public Affairs Officer
Naval Support Activity South Potomac
This study was prepared under contract with King George County, Virginia, with financial support from the Office of Economic Adjustment, Department of Defense. The content reflects the views of the key partners involved in the development of this study including the Town of Colonial Beach, VA, the counties of King George and Westmoreland, VA, and the counties of Charles and St. Mary's, MD, and does not necessarily reflect the views of the Office of Economic Adjustment.